A walk around the web… October 4, 2012

October 4, 2012 at 5:40 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Editor: Valerie Linson

First Lady Hillary Rodham Clinton visits Sesame Street, 1993 (source: National Archives.)

Big Bird visits First Lady Patricia Nixon 1970 (source: National Archives.)

What Mitt Romney Can Learn From A Black Republican Like Me
Crystal Wright, The Root DC Live, The Washington Post, October 3, 2012
Ever since I started my blog Conservative Black Chick, I’ve received hundreds of emails, tweets and Facebook message from people wondering (often incredulously) why I’m a Republican. Talking with a friend recently I realized I’ve never written about what drives me to be a conservative.
Read more here…

Kenny Leon Directs A New “Steel Magnolias” for Lifetime
Felicia Lee, The New York Times, September 28, 2012
Easygoing and seemingly supremely confident, the 56-year-old director (once a People magazine “most beautiful”) was sipping water at a favorite Midtown restaurant as he talked about his career and making “Magnolias” — due next Sunday on Lifetime with Queen Latifah, Phylicia Rashad and Alfre Woodard in an ensemble cast — for a new generation.
Read more here…

The Top 10 Coolest Instagrammers
Kimberly Walker, Ebony, October 3, 2012
et your photos tell the story of your life. We sifted through our favorite Instagrammers and found ten that show off sick style, amazing photography skills and the essence of the good life. Peruse these artists, bloggers, celebrities and fashion gurus to find some fresh new follows.
See more here…

African Hip Hop is Recreating America
Afua Hirsch, The GuardianUK, October 3, 2012
These days if you want to get away from US hip-hop’s big bling, Moët overflow and embrace of all things ghetto, Africa is not the place to go. The continent’s burgeoning music industry is churning out images of champagne bucket-laden yachts, fair-skinned girls in bikinis and the entire range of mixed messages that has made black American music so notorious.
Read more here…

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I possess read many of the articles in your website currently, and I adore your design of blogging. I added it to be able to my favorites blog site list and will be checking again soon. MXF Converter for Mac

  2. Hello there, I found your blog via Google even as looking for a similar
    topic, your site got here up, it seems good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, simply turned into aware of your blog via Google, and found that it is really informative. I am going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate in case you continue this in future. Many other people will probably be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  3. What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve
    discovered It absolutely helpful and it has aided me out loads.

    I hope to give a contribution & help different customers like its helped me.

    Good job.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | Customized Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

